A Seemingly Silent Summer

Thursday Verseday with Arlinda

As the semester comes to an end, so do my Thursday Verseday blogs. While my lack of summer blogging may seemingly appear as a seasonal silence, I will spend my time off gathering inspiration and writing. It is poems like “Silence” by Sopuruchi Precious Okeoma (featured in Obscura’s Spring 2017 edition) that inspire me to always write and always express my thoughts.

In the poem, the speaker states, “not being able to communicate my thoughts/ leaves me stranded like the pages of an old book.” What if we never tried to express ourselves? Who would we be if we hid our thoughts away, forgotten in the corners of our mind? Where would literary lovers be if novels like Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen and Jonathan Swift’s Gulliver’s Travels were just abandoned ideas? Would the thought-provoking and era-defining voices of Austen and Swift ever be heard, or would they be lost to the dust gathering on a bookshelf? The speaker in Okeoma’s poem conveys, “I long to be set free/ I sit and wait as dust collects on my spine.” A writer’s voice is timeless. Years down the line someone may stumble upon a text and find meaning and comfort in the words on a page.

108175739

In Sopuruchi Precious Okeoma’s poem, the speaker describes silence as “silence is bittersweet/ silence is numbing/ silence is being left untouched by human hands.” Break the silence. Grab a pen, and a piece of paper, and express your thoughts, voice your opinions. I know I will spend my summer writing and expressing my thoughts. How will you spend yours?

 

~Arlinda Mulosmanaj

Leave a Reply

